Recovering Marines

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Olerhead

Recovering Marines

Post by Olerhead » Sun, 11. Jan 09, 01:44

I'm new to the game so I'm trying to get a hand on certain things. Namely I've recently discovered boarding actions and while I've learned how to get marines over to the enemy ship using boarding pods (still can't figure out the transporter device) I don't know how to recover them if the ship is destroyed or they decide to evacuate.

Right now I'm looking at several astronauts floating around through space aimlessly and I can't figure out how to retrieve them. How do I go about it? I'm sure I'm missing some obvious, easy way of doing it but I just can't figure it out.

~Lonowski~
x3

Post by ~Lonowski~ » Sun, 11. Jan 09, 02:28

run over them :twisted: ... you'll pick them up in your cargo bay. :wink:
:paranid:~Lonowski~

NeverSnake
x3tc

Post by NeverSnake » Sun, 11. Jan 09, 03:24

Do Nothing.

Marines will automatically make their way back to the ship that launched them once they exit from the target.

p.s. The transporter device has nothing to do with boarding, it's for transfering you and cargo between your ships.
"There's an old story about the person who wished his computer were as easy to use as his telephone. That wish has come true, since I no longer know how to use my telephone" — Bjarne Stroustrup

Mustikos
x3tc

Post by Mustikos » Sun, 11. Jan 09, 06:28

You need a M7 or Sikiros to use the boarding pods. I have use a pod yet the M7s start at, $35mil.. or is it $50mil?

The marines will work if you go to the piracy menu and do the board ship command, I recommend getting as close as you can and doing it. Seems they came out the back top of my Dragon so I tried to angle it right to get the closest.